Little Anaishaa Nahar wins MSSA U-8 chess title

October 10, 2018


Six-year-old Anaishaa Nahar of Vibgyor High School (Goregaon) exhibited excellent focus and composure as she competed against her elder rivals. The young talent Anaishaa made clever maneuvers to outwit all her senior opponents to claim the Girls’ Under-8 crown in the Mumbai Schools Sports Association (MSSA) Inter-schools Chess tournament, conducted by MCDCA, at Dharavi Sports Complex.


Anaishaa and 7-year-old Nusha Vhatwar of Shree Mumbai Devi Vidya Mandir, were both unbeaten in the 8-round competition and finished with identical 6.5 points each. But, Anaishaa with better progressive scores was declared winner, while Nusha had to settle for second place. Prisha Kesarwani of Arya Vidya Mandir (Juhu) with 6 points clinched the third place prize.


The Boys’ Under-8 title went to Jai Vardhan Raj of Jamunabhai Narsee (Juhu) who finished in first place with 7 points. His school mate Purvaan Shah and Aaryaveer Agarwal of  Ecole Mondiale, both with 6 points each were placed second and third respectively.


In the Girls’ Under-10 event, Shreya Mukherjee of Arya Vidya Mandir (Bandra) clinch the top position with an all-win record to finish with 8 points. She was followed by Suhaani Lohia of Dhirubai Ambani School amd Ishika Soni of Universal School, both with 7 points each, in second and third positions respectively.


In the Boys’ Under-10 competition, Aarav Lakhani of Maneckji Cooper also won all his 8 rounds to bag the first prize and was followed by Kush Bhagat of American School and Aditya Patil of Dhirubai Ambani School, both with 7 points sharing the second and third positions respectively.


This year, the meet witnessed a record number of entries of around 1800 players in all the categories across various schools in Mumbai.


Final results – Girls’ – Under-8:

1. Anaisha Pinkesh Nahar (Vibgyor HS) 6.5 points,

2. Nusha Vhatwar (Shree Mumbai Devi Vidya Mandir) 6.5,

3, Prisha Kesarwani (AVM, Juhu) 6.



1. Shreya  Mukherjee  (AVM Bandra) 8,

2. Suhaani Lohia (Dhirubai Ambani) 7,

3. Ishika Soni (Universal School) 7;



1. Rashi Shetty (Visanji Academy) 8,

2. Talwelkar Gargi (Ryan international) 7.5,

3. Jiya Kakde (IRS secondary) 7;



1. Kriti Patel  (Shishuvan School) 7.5;

2. Vrisha Parag Shah (Bombay Scottish) 7;

3. Krisha Khandelwal (Bombay Scottish) 7.



1. Samyukta Banthia (Bombay International) 6.5;

2. Yesha Shah (Poddar International) 6.5;

3. Nilaya Patil (Lilavati Podar) 6.


Boys – Under-8:

1. Jai Vardhan Raj (Jamunabhai Narsee) 7,

2. Purvaan Shah (Jamunabai Narsee) 6;

3. Aaryaveer Agarwal (Ecole Mondiale) 6.



1. Aarav Lakhani (Maneckji Cooper) 8,

2. Kush Bhagat (American School) 7,

3. Aditya Patil (Dhirubai Ambani) 7.



1. Raahil Mullick (Dhirubai Ambani) 7.5,

2. Rithvik Krishnan (Bombay Scottish) 7,

3. Vansh Agarwal (Dhirubai Ambani) 7.



1. Shiv Shome (Podar International) 7.5,

2. Anirudhha Potawad (Dr Antonio DaSilva) 7,

3.Hriday Sangoi (Don Bosco) 7.



1. Adithya Guhagarkar (R.N polar) 7,

2. Rushab Shah (The Cathedral & John Connon) 7,

3. Shourya Jain (The Cathedral And John Connon) 7.




    Please reload

    Recent Posts

    Please reload